Petr Cech, Branislav Ivanovic and Ramires are the only players who retain their place in the side following Sunday’s defeat at Manchester City.

Youngster Nathan Ake is handed his full debut in midfield after making a brief cameo in the Boxing Day win at Norwich City.

In defence, meanwhile, John Terry, Paulo Ferreira and Ryan Bertrand come in for Gary Cahill, David Luiz and Ashley Cole.

Yossi Benayoun makes his first start of the season for Chelsea, while Victor Moses and Oscar, both late substitutes at the Etihad, also start, tucked in behind Fernando Torres.

Josh McEachran, currently on loan at Middlesbrough from the Blues, is ineligible to play any part.

Chelsea are expected to line up in the following 4-2-3-1 formation:

1. Cech
19. Ferreira
2. Ivanovic
26. Terry (c)
34. Bertrand
7. Ramires
57. Ake
13. Moses
11. Oscar
30. Benayoun
9. Torres

Substitutes: 22. Turnbull, 3. Cole, 4. David luiz, 8. Lampard, 17. Hazard, 21. Marin, 29. Ba.

Middlesbrough are expected to line up in the following 4-4-2 formation:

1. Steele; 10. Bailey, 6. McManus, 3. Bikey, 4. Friend; 14. Williams (c), 38. Haroun, 7. Leadbitter, 19. Carayol; 27. McDonald, 23. Main.

Substitutes: 32. Leutwiler, 5. Zemmama, 9. Emnes, 11. Ledesma, 15. Hines, 30. Miller, 33. Smallwood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.