The Professional Footballers’ Association has today [Friday] announced the six nominations for the Player of the Year award, with two Chelsea representatives.

Both Juan Mata and Eden Hazard have been shortlisted for the prestigious award, which is voted for by fellow players, having enjoyed impressive campaigns with the Blues.

Mata has scored 18 goals thus far, including crucial strikes in the Premier League wins at Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur, while also providing a number of assists.

Hazard, in his debut season in English football, has settled extremely quickly, and already has 12 goals to his name.

The Belgian, who has also been nominated for the Young Player of the Year award, has stood out with his ability to beat players and score spectacular goals, and looks set to be a key player for us as the season draws to a close.

Another Chelsea player, Romelu Lukaku, who is currently on loan at West Bromwich Albion, joins Hazard in the Young Player of the Year Award nominations after a solid season at the Hawthorns.

Under the guidance of Steve Clarke, the 19-year-old has gained valuable first-team experience, playing regularly and scoring 13 goals in 32 appearances.

Nominations in full:

PFA Player of the Year

Eden Hazard – Chelsea
Juan Mata – Chelsea
Gareth Bale – Tottenham Hotspur
Michael Carrick – Manchester United
Robin van Persie – Manchester United
Luis Suarez – Liverpool

PFA Young Player of the Year

Eden Hazard – Chelsea
Romelu Lukaku – Chelsea (on loan at West Bromwich Albion)
Christian Benteke – Aston Villa
Gareth Bale – Tottenham Hotspur
Danny Welbeck – Manchester United
Jack Wilshere – Arsenal

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on 28 April.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.