John Mikel Obi came second in the voting for the African Footballer of the Year 2013. Manchester City’s Yaya Toure won the award on Thursday evening at a ceremony in Lagos, Nigeria.

It is the first time Mikel was one of the three nominated players voted on by the head coaches of the 54 national teams affiliated to the Confederation of African Football.

Didier Drogba, twice a winner in the past, came third. Toure is the winner for a third year in a row.

Mikel was named in the African select 11 for 2013 at the ceremony, and his Nigerian national side who won the African Cup of Nations back in February were awarded Team of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.