Thorgan Hazard, who is spending a second season on loan at Zulte Waregem, has won Belgium’s Golden Shoe award given to the best player in the domestic Jupiler Pro League during 2013.

Hazard (pictured top), just over two years younger than Eden Hazard, joined Chelsea in the same summer as his older brother but moved back on loan to his native Belgium having played one competitive fixture for our Under-21 and one for our Under-19 sides.

He made 37 appearances and scored five goals as Zulte Waregem enjoyed their best ever season in 2012/13, narrowly beaten to the league title by Anderlecht.

The 20-year-old, who plays as an attacking midfielder, continued his good form into the current campaign, scoring 10 goals in 23 appearances in league and cup so far with his side presently fourth. He was also made their captain and last May was handed his debut for the full Belgian international team in a friendly against the USA.

At Thursday night’s ceremony, Hazard, who netted 17 goals and contributed 17 assists in the calendar year, also collected an award as the most promising young player. The Golden Shoe was decided by the votes from journalists and prominent football figures.

Thibaut Courtois was named best Belgian playing abroad, an accolade for which Eden Hazard was also nominated, as was Manchester City’s Vincent Kompany.

Courtois, who joined Chelsea in 2011, is in his third season on loan at Atletico Madrid and during 2013 he helped the club beat neighbours Real in the Spanish Cup final, mount a challenge for the league title that currently sees them in second place, and he picked up an award for best goalkeeper in La Liga.

Thibaut Courtois in action for Atletico

Back in England, Eden Hazard has been nominated for the FTBPro PFA Fan Player of the Month award for January.

The 23-year-old has been in sparkling form over the past four weeks, scoring in consecutive games against Swansea and Liverpool at Stamford Bridge just after Christmas, before netting in the 2-0 win at Hull on 11 January.

Also nominated for the award are Emmanuel Adebayor (Tottenham), Yohan Cabaye (Newcastle), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Liverpool) and Yaya Toure (Manchester City).

Each month, one lucky fan will win two tickets to a Premier League match where they will meet and present the award to the player before the game. You have until January 31 to cast your vote, and can do so by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.