Eden Hazard has been crowned the Chelsea Player of the Year for 2013/14.

The Belgian received the award from Jose Mourinho to a cap a memorable second season with the Blues.

The awards ceremony, which took place in the Great Hall at Stamford Bridge, was hosted by Chelsea TV’s Gigi Salmon and Trevor Nelson, the Radio 1 DJ and a Chelsea season ticket holder. Five prizes in total were handed out.

The main award was voted for by supporters on this website, with John Terry, Gary Cahill and Cesar Azpilicueta – who won the Players’ Player of the Year – making up the final four nominations.

Hazard, who scored 17 goals this season including a number of wonderful individual efforts, was thrilled to pick up the award for the first time.

‘I just want to say thank you,’ said the Belgian. ‘The three nominees all deserved it but it’s me! We know it’s a collective sport but individually trophies are sometimes good, so I’ll take this one home and enjoy it with my family.

‘When I play I try to give my best on the pitch. I like the applause and when the fans come they want to see a spectacle.’

Earlier in the evening Cesar Azpilicueta was voted the Players’ Player of the Year, chosen by members of the first team squad and technical staff.

Having been mostly deployed at what was an unfamiliar position of left-back for most of the season, the Spaniard has displayed exceptional consistency throughout this campaign. His hard-working, disciplined and decisive performances over the course of the season have played a major part in our defence being the tightest in the league. He also scored his first goal for the club in the Capital One Cup win at Arsenal back in October.

On accepting the award, handed out by 2002 Chelsea Player of the Year Carlo Cudicini, Azpilicueta paid tribute to his team-mates.

‘Thank you to everyone because it’s a pleasure for me to have this award,’ said Azpilicueta.

Paulo Ferreira picked up the Special Recognition award for the service he gave the club between 2004 and 2013 in the penultimate prize of the night.

The Portuguese defender won the Premier League three times, the Champions League and the Europa League once, the FA Cup three times and the League Cup twice during his nine-year spell in west London.

In all he played 217 times for the club and was extremely popular with teammates and supporters alike. His final appearance was as a late substitute against Everton on the last day of the 2012/13 season. After the game he brought the Europa League trophy, won a few days before, onto the Stamford Bridge pitch and thanked the fans for their support over the previous nine years.

Seb Coe gave Ferreira his award and our former defender couldn’t hide his pride afterwards.

‘I feel so humble,’ smiled Ferreira. ‘I can’t believe I have won this award. I spent nine great years at this club and I feel really happy.

‘For me it was like a second home here, it was a big family. That’s why I am still living in London and I hope to be here for a long time.’

Ferreira also praised the impact of Jose Mourinho, the man who signed him from his former club Porto in 2004.

‘If I’m here and I’m having this award I have to say thank you to Jose. He was the one who brought me to the club and I stayed here for a long time even though I wasn’t expecting it.’

There was a double celebration for Lewis Baker, who won both the Chelsea Young Player of the Season and the Chelsea Goal of the Season for his stunning mid-air half-volley against Arsenal’s Under-21 side.

Baker has enjoyed a fine season for our Academy sides at Under-21 and Under-19 level, and was rewarded with a first team debut as a late substitute in the FA Cup win at Derby. He was also on the bench, though remained an unused sub, for our Capital One Cup win at Swindon in September and more recently at Anfield when we defeated Liverpool.

The 19-year-old has scored 17 times from midfield this season across the Under-21 Premier League, the UEFA Youth League and the Under-21 Premier League Cup, with the most recent goal, away to Arsenal, voted the 2013/14 Chelsea Goal of the Season earlier in the night.

Supporters were given the opportunity to register their vote on this website from a selection of 10 outstanding goals, with Baker’s deemed to be the pick of the bunch.

The young midfielder was playing for our Under-21 side at the Emirates when he met Islam Feruz’s centre with a mid-air flick that flew into the bottom corner in a game we eventually went on to win 2-1.


1967 Peter Bonetti
1968 Charlie Cooke
1969 David Webb
1970 John Hollins
1971 John Hollins
1972 David Webb
1973 Peter Osgood
1974 Gary Locke
1975 Charlie Cooke
1976 Ray Wilkins
1977 Ray Wilkins
1978 Micky Droy
1979 Tommy Langley
1980 Clive Walker
1981 Petar Borota
1982 Mike Fillery
1983 Joey Jones
1984 Pat Nevin
1985 David Speedie
1986 Eddie Niedzwiecki
1987 Pat Nevin
1988 Tony Dorigo
1989 Graham Roberts
1990 Ken Monkou
1991 Andy Townsend
1992 Paul Elliott
1993 Frank Sinclair
1994 Steve Clarke
1995 Erland Johnsen
1996 Ruud Gullit
1997 Mark Hughes
1998 Dennis Wise
1999 Gianfranco Zola
2000 Dennis Wise
2001 John Terry
2002 Carlo Cudicini
2003 Gianfranco Zola
2004 Frank Lampard
2005 Frank Lampard
2006 John Terry
2007 Michael Essien
2008 Joe Cole
2009 Frank Lampard
2010 Didier Drogba
2011 Petr Cech
2012 Juan Mata
2013 Juan Mata
2014 Eden Hazard


1983 Keith Dublin
1984 Robert Isaac
1985 Gareth Hall
1986 Micky Bodley
1987 Jason Cundy
1988 Eddie Cunnington
1989 No award
1990 No award
1991 Andy Myers
1992 Zeke Rowe
1993 Neil Shipperley
1994 Mark Nicholls
1995 Chris McCann
1996 Jody Morris
1997 Nick Crittenden
1998 John Terry
1999 Sam Dalla Bona
2000 Rhys Evans
2001 Leon Knight
2002 Carlton Cole
2003 Robert Huth
2004 Robert Huth
2005 Robert Huth
2006 Lassana Diarra
2007 John Mikel Obi
2008 The U18s youth team
2009 Michael Mancienne
2010 The U18s youth team
2011 Josh McEachran
2012 Lucas Piazon
2013 Nathan Ake
2014 Lewis Baker


2006 Claude Makelele
2007 Didier Drogba
2008 Ricardo Carvalho
2009 Ashley Cole
2010 Florent Malouda
2011 Ashley Cole
2012 Ramires
2013 Juan Mata
2014 Cesar Azpilicueta


2007 Michael Essien v Arsenal (home)
2008 Juliano Belletti v Tottenham (home)
2009 Michael Essien v Barcelona (home)
2010 Ashley Cole v Sunderland (home)
2011 Ramires v Manchester City (home)
2012 Ramires v Barcelona (away)
2013 Oscar v Juventus (home)
2014 Lewis Baker v Arsenal Under-21s (away)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.