Following the completion of the 2014 World Cup group stage yesterday (Thursday), 10 Chelsea players representing four countries remain in the tournament with the knockout games commencing this weekend.

A club record of 17 players were selected for the World Cup, including Frank Lampard whose contract expires at the end of this month, and David Luiz whose move to Paris Saint-Germain was not completed until after Brazil played their opening game. Cesc Fabregas had been added to the numbers when he joined Chelsea on the opening day.

Competing in the last-16 stage will be our players from Belgium, Brazil and Germany who all topped their groups, and Nigeria who finished second to Argentina in theirs.

The possibility remains that all 10 players could make it through to the quarter-finals with the four countries kept apart in the last-16 ties.

The full list of Chelsea players who qualified from the group stage is:

Belgium: Thibaut Courtois, Eden Hazard, Romelu Lukaku.

Brazil: Oscar, Ramires, Willian.

Germany: Andre Schurrle.

Nigeria: John Mikel Obi, Victor Moses, Kenneth Omeruo.

Their Round of 16 games are (kick-offs in UK time):

Brazil v Chile – Saturday 5pm

France v Nigeria – Monday 5pm

Germany v Algeria – Monday 9pm

Belgium v USA – Tuesday 9pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.